Flaubert’s Parrot by Julian Barnes

 

Time to mix things up.

I made the mistake of reading this book before I read Madame Bovary. It does not make a huge amount of sense without having some familiarity with Madame Bovary.

I am not really a fan of books that don’t work unless you’ve already read a lot of books. It seems kind of exclusive and a bit snobby. I read this book called Drood because I was studying Edwin Drood at uni and it’s just a book that would not work particularly well for people who haven’t read 1) The Mystery of Edwin Drood, 2) Some other Dickens 3) Some Wilkie Collins 4) A bit about the lives of both Dickens and Wilkie Collins.

Also for something classed as a comedy this is not exactly laugh out loud funny. In fact I would go so far as to say that it’s not funny.

This was one of the first list books I read and it made me question the wisdom of the list.

I’m probably too plebeian for this book basically.

Leave a comment